Author Topic: New thread by Dan/f706 and responses (moved from WTT thread)  (Read 17206 times)

ppearl214

• Administrator
  • ANA Forum Policewoman - PBW Cursed Cruise Director
New thread by Dan/f706 and responses (moved from WTT thread)
« on: April 18, 2007, 09:48:26 pm »
Dan, I hope you don't mind, but this is a more appropriate spot and more apt to get noticed and responded.  I've moved it so others can see easier and more apt to respond to your opening post.  Thanks. Phyl

===========================================================

f706

Re: ANA WTT (Willing-to-Talk) List available to newbies
« Reply #10 on: Today at 11:02:46 PM »      

I earned my Audiology Degree in 1977.  I practiced for 10 years.  The year before I left audiology for a different profession I experienced a sudden muting of hearing in my left ear at Thanksgiving dinner.  The next week I went to visit an associate who did the standard hearing tests and ABR.  He found nothing remarkable.  My hearing seemed to be unmuted by then.  11 years later I had a simple air-line hearing test and found the hearing in my left ear had degraded to a "mild loss".  In 2000 I awoke one morning with tinnitus and noticable loss in my left ear.  I had it tested and did nothing.  This has happened three more times since.  Finally, two weeks ago, I went to the ENT fully expecting the AN diagnosis.  Yesterday he confirmed it.  One of my peers in graduate school is now heading up the audiology dept at the Mayo Clinic in Minn.  My graduate committee chariman is the head of audiology at the Mayo Clinic in Scottsdale.  I mention all this because I am likely one of the most foolish people on this site.  My feeling at this point is that I will do almost anything to avoid surgery.  My wife is disabled and I am the only family she has for over 900 miles.  I'm in sales.  I drive daily. I'm a primary care giver.  I simply cannot be ill or be "off my game".  I would rather stop/slow down the growth of this thing and give mysel