Author Topic: Laura surgery update  (Read 17590 times)

BarbaraS

Laura surgery update
« on: April 14, 2009, 07:42:27 pm »
Hi everyone -

Laura (Magin) had her surgery today - and I just got the update that it went well, and that she is now in recovery.  The surgery took about 9 hours (she went in at 11am EDT and was out around 8pm.)  Laura's boyfriend is at the hospital with her and is graciously giving me updates via phone.  It's hard for me to be so far away from her (I'm in NY and she's in AZ). I know this is a very knowledgeable group, so I will provide as many details as possible.  I am still learning about AN, so any insight or comments on Laura's s condition, surgery, and recovery process would be greatly appreciated.

Apparently, they were not able to remove all of the tumor, as a small part of it was too close to a major blood vessel (and would have caused permanent facial paralysis).  She will need to undergo radiation in a few months to shrink the remaining piece of the tumor.  The doctors indicated that she will have temporary facial paralysis for a week or two, but that she should regain all feeling/movement.

When I spoke with Laura this morning, she was in very good spirits, and I know that was due in large part to the support she has from all of the wonderful people on this forum.  I am so grateful to all of you for sharing your knowledge, experiences, and support.

I will post another update tomorrow evening.

Best,
Barbara

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
Re: Laura surgery update
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2009, 07:45:29 pm »
Barbara -

thanks for the very fast - and very detailed - update.  It was great that you agreed to be Laura's scribe.

I'm glad to hear that Laura is doing well.  The idea of leaving a little bit of the tumor that will need radiation is a good one; good call on the part of her docs.

I'm looking forward to tomorrow's update.

When you get a chance to talk to Laura, please send her our best. 

Jan