Author Topic: Tinnitus in both ears now  (Read 4820 times)

Tricia Marie

Tinnitus in both ears now
« on: February 24, 2015, 08:21:31 am »
Hi all,

I'm new to this forum. I'm 25 and was diagnosed with a 1 cm AN on my left side in 08/2014 when I had extremely loud ringing and fullness in my left ear. I have been in the watch and wait status since then with fairly frequent MRIs of my brain and spine. I have recently been having tinnitus on my right side as well, mostly when I am trying to sleep on my right side. Although this is annoying and completely disrupts my already disrupted sleep schedule (I am a night shift nurse) what I am most concerned about is the possibility of a tumor on my right side, indicating nf2. My question is, have any of you experienced tinnitus in both sides due to a unilateral AN? I don't know if this is at all normal. I have just recently spoke to my doctor and am getting an MRI in April, which is the 6 month mark from my last brain scan.

Thanks,

Tricia

Tricia Marie

Re: Tinnitus in both ears now
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2015, 08:23:03 am »
I meant that I was diagnosed in 08/2013.

CHD63

• Life is good again!!
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2015, 10:36:41 am »
Hi Tricia and welcome to this forum .....

Many of us have experienced bilateral tinnitus associated with a unilateral AN.  I never had tinnitus until after my left side AN was surgically removed, and then only on the AN side.  Some time later ..... I do not remember exactly when it started ..... I developed tinnitus on the right, but at a much lower volume level.  To this day I have my own little orchestra in my head because the two sides are different pitches/clangings!  I am due for another MRI in May, but all previous MRIs have been left-side ANs only.  I am SSD on the left and only very mild high-frequency hearing loss in my right ear.