Author Topic: Handwriting just not the same.. nor is memory.  (Read 27891 times)

4cm in Pacific Northwest

Re: Handwriting just not the same.. nor is memory.
« Reply #45 on: October 27, 2008, 10:57:07 pm »
Before my diagnosis of my AN tumor one big thing that was happening to me (amidst other bizarre symptoms) was that my handwriting was becoming more and more illegible.)

I did my first undergraduate degree in Fine Arts. Years of practice mainly in the visual arts…Then taught high school art, drama and dance (plus western Civ.)… and a couple of evening college courses too. I sure appreciate the time skill and effort that went into the work that is posted on this thread. Thanks so much for sharing your gift & talent with us!

You know my drawing and painting skills are not what they used to be … but I am not exactly practicing hard, at the moment, - as I seem to not have the time to fit this in.  Truth is I have not tried to draw or paint artwork – since the ole craniotomy  ;) . Lately I am interested in different things and not feeling the drive to do art -that I did on my youth. Oddly enough currently I am much more interested in learning about neuro-science than “the arts’ (In my past “the artsâ€? were the most dominant part of my life)

This whole AN journey has been tough as it really has not only been a physical rehabilitation (vestibular, neuro musical facial, hyperacusis- physical therapies etc) but ALSO “vocational� rehabilitation - for me. The whole thing has really been one educational experience… that never seems to end.

I used to play the flute- however with Bell’s Palsy I have lost my embrasure… and became tearful when I could not get a sound out…So I gave my flute to my 4th grader and she is starting to make wonderful music with it. I cannot help her with the sound- but I can help her with the fingering. At first I was sad I could not play but now she is playing I am just tickled pink.