Author Topic: What to do, what to do?  (Read 5198 times)

keepingthefaith

What to do, what to do?
« on: March 02, 2009, 12:10:04 pm »
Hi all, I am a newbie to this board although I used to chat on the Johns Hopkins site. 
As background, I was diagnosed with a 9mm AN in left ear in 2006, however I think I had the AN several years before diagnosis as I had typical AN symptoms.
I have had 4 MRIs and the most recent one (Nov 08) determined that my 4-year tumor had grown by 2mm. 
My hearing continues to deteriorate (confirmed by hearing tests) and am now considering a fractionated CK at Johns Hopkins.  I live in South Florida and since there is a Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, I am also considering them.
Realize my AN is still rather small by most standards, but not happy with even the minimal growth and wondering whether to preserve my hearing, I should have treatment now???
Welcome and would appreciate any and all comments as I need to make a decision.  :)

Tumbleweed

Re: What to do, what to do?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2009, 12:36:40 pm »
Tough decision, and there is no easy answer. If you have CK, you may lose a little bit of hearing (10 or 15 dB of loss is not uncommon). But if you're already experiencing progressive hearing loss, you're likely to lose that much (and eventually a lot more) anyway if you don't get treated. Basically it's a trade-off: potentially sacrifice a little hearing by getting treated now in return for saving more hearing overall in the long run. And you might be one of the lucky ones who don't suffer any hearing loss after getting CK. In any case, statistics show that CK offers your best chance for hearing preservation of all the treatments available.