Author Topic: Wondering  (Read 6084 times)

Tracy

Wondering
« on: January 02, 2009, 12:25:19 am »
 ??? I have an AN that is 1.5 x 0.9 x 0.5.  I met with my ENT @ Standford yesterday.  He basically feels that surgery is the best option for me because I am 37 (young) and healthy.  I have only 56% voice discrimination left in my AN ear. (So, he says that losing all the hearing will happen anyway with or without surgery.)  I having ringing in both ears (louder in AN ear).  I did the "watch and wait" for little over a year.  First 6 months MRI showed no growth.  Last MRI showed a significant change.  I'm a teacher and a mother of a 6 year old.  Having surgery just doesn't seem like an option for many reasons besides the two I mentioned.  I'm really leaning towards the radiation. I haven't been able to talk with anyone in that dept. because of the New Years holiday- but I understand Standford does the Cyberknife procedure. I've done a lot of on-line reading and have SO many things running through my head. I didn't realize that there are side effects with this as well... and would like to hear from people that have had the CK and hear about what the "after" was like for them.  My ENT didn't mention anything about side effects (probably because he was focused in the surgery).
Thanks-
Tracy
(Completely a 1st timer here!)

sgerrard

Re: Wondering
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2009, 04:14:21 am »
Hi Tracy,

I did CK in Sep 2007, and have been fortunate not to have significant side effects since then. There are some CKers, though, that do go through some swelling issues, and sometimes dizziness. It does vary by person.

At 56% word recognition, your hearing is in the AN ear is iffy, but it might make it through CK in some sort of usable condition. Mine was about 85% going into treatment, and with a hearing aid, it is well worth having.