Author Topic: Physical therapy  (Read 6730 times)

Battyp

Physical therapy
« on: December 06, 2005, 05:23:00 am »
I've been doing PT now for two months and personally I don't see much improvement but I know I've had some.  How long have some of you done pt?  I'm wondering if it's worth the effort since I have to bum rides to get there.  I know I need to retrain my brain from my vestibular problems.  But after reading my hospital notes and realizing that was one of the things they "sacrificed" I'm wondering what's the point?

Thanks,
Michelle

Cheryl R

Re: Physical therapy
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2005, 08:32:17 am »
  Michelle.   Are you doing physical therapy or vestibular therapy?     There is a difference.   Yes it can take some time for the balance to improve.     This doesn't mean you actually have to continue therapy all that time but just keep active and challenge yourself.         Some of what one learns in therapy can be done on your own at home.                My balance problems were outside and in big malls and stores so I just kept plugging away walking in these locations.  Some of it may never quite go all the way away but there should be improvement over time.     It sure tests ones patience.           Some of how long it takes you may depend if you had any balance problems pre op and if your body was starting to compensate then.       I personally never did any therapy but many people do.
     Hang in there!                             Cheryl R.
Right mid fossa 11-01-01
  left tumor found 5-03,so have NF2
  trans lab for right facial nerve tumor
  with nerve graft 3-23-06
   CSF leak revision surgery 4-07-06
   left mid fossa 4-17-08
   near deaf on left before surgery
   with hearing much improved .
    Univ of Iowa for all care

Battyp

« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2005, 11:17:18 am »
HI Cheryl,