Author Topic: 7-weeks post op today  (Read 16023 times)

Rhonda

7-weeks post op today
« on: October 05, 2005, 10:54:01 am »
Well today marks 7-weeks since surgery (translab) for me.  I'm doing incredibly well.  But I have a few
problems that I'd like your comments on.  I don't want to go back to work until I know I'm all better.
I do not want to chance a relapse.  Here is what is still going on...

--I still have residual facial paralysis/numbness (My face responds about 85%)
--My AN-side (right) eye closes but does not blink all the way.  This is my number 1
problem, as it can be painful and annoying all day long.
--Blurry vision.  Writing this message is hard.  I go back to the opthomologist 10/31.
--My handwriting is terrible--and I'm a third grade teacher!  It's getting better, but
I've never heard of people having problems like this.
--Sleeping.  In order to get a good night's sleep, I still need sleeping pills.  My head
hurts like a bruise and my body aches when I lay down.  How long do you feel the
incision?  How long until you slept on your AN side?

All in all, I feel lucky.  I'm excited about the progress that I've made.  I have an
appointment tomorrow with my neuotologist.  Should I bring up anything special
to him?  It's Dr. Rick Friedman with the House Ear Clinic for those of you that know
him. 

Thanks for your input,
Rhonda

Jeff

Re: 7-weeks post op today
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2005, 11:32:32 am »
Hi Rhonda,