Author Topic: Cross verses BAHA  (Read 16632 times)

MusicTracy

Cross verses BAHA
« on: March 25, 2014, 06:43:19 pm »
I am 7 months post gamma knife and just had my hearing retested.  I still have moderate to severe hearing loss with no speech discrimination.  Met with the audiologist regarding my options as it is very difficult for me to hear in group gatherings.  As a music therapist I am frequently in group situations working with children and adults with neurodevelopmental disorders and having my hearing is very important to me.  I am frequently frustrated that I can not hear my individuals speaking or singing over the background noise in the group settings.

I was told my options are the Cros as I have great hearing in my unaffected ear or the BAHA.

I am really at a loss as to which one I should go with.  I understand there is a chance the insurance company will cover the BAHA but don't want that to be the one and only deciding factor.

7/16/2013 diagnosed with AN in the internal auditory canal
8/30/2013 gamma knife treatment
12/31/2013 developed hemifacial spasms
5/16/2014 BAHA surgery canceled because health insurance would not cover.  Now working with OVR.

arizonajack

• Arizona - It's a Dry Heat
Re: Cross verses BAHA
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2014, 10:28:38 am »
I think you'll have the same problem with crowds and noisy environments no matter which way you go.

I've had the Phonak CROS for almost two years. It's great. Except for crowds and noisy environments like restaurants.

However, Phonak recently came out with the Roger Pen. It's a directional microphone that you can point at people you want to hear.

I'm getting one next month so I can't say anything about results yet but here is Phonak's web page with details. Look promising.

http://www.phonak.com/com/b2c/en/products/wireless-accessories/products/roger-pen/hearing-aid-accessory.html

3/15/18 12mm x 6mm x5mm
9/21/16 12mm x 7mm x 5mm
3/23/15 12mm x 5.5mm x 4mm
3/13/14 12mm x 6mm x 4mm