Author Topic: 16 months post op - sudden ear pain  (Read 3134 times)

Imcamodchick88

16 months post op - sudden ear pain
« on: April 17, 2013, 01:37:19 am »
Hello!

I am a newbie here. I am 16 months post-op. I had my surgery December 23, 2011 to remove a 2.8-cm acoustic neuroma from my right ear. I had the translabyrinthine procedure done at UT Southwestern in Dallas, Texas. The surgery took 11 hours, and I only had one complication due to a blood clot that attempted to cause a stroke, but I am too stubborn a person for that.

After surgery, I pushed myself to become "normal" as soon as possible. I am a college student (I was 21 at the age of surgery, and I am 22 now,) and I wanted to go back to school for the spring semester. So I worked hard to be able to drive, and focus. The only lingering effects I had by January 13, the first day of classes, were mild exhaustion, and migraines on an occasional basis. And of course that I was now deaf in my right ear. I also wasn't allowed in labs due to the "physical exertion weight limits" from my doctor, so I had to restrict my course load to half. I didn't return to work for another month, due to the Dr having already written the note to restrict me from work until then, since we didn't know if I would be able to drive, and driving is a necessity for my job. I even was able to go back to choir for my scholarships!

However, now my days are back to normal, although I still get tired easily. And when I am tired, my balance is off. I do still have migraines, but a daily pill helps to control them. I more put all of that for background, since I am new.