Author Topic: About to Lose my Stinkin Mind  (Read 3256 times)

ejalinske

About to Lose my Stinkin Mind
« on: December 14, 2012, 07:22:00 pm »
So I had surgery on a schwannoma two weeks ago today.  I had a nerve graft.  The right side of my face is paralyzed temporarily until the nerve function starts to take.  Simply stated, I am starting a new job in early January and am concerned about my co-worker and client perceptions.  I am a management consultant and client interaction is a big part of my career.  I've learned that people tend not to care as much as you think they do, but I can't get over being self conscious.  Any thoughts about dealing with this?  Many thanks to everyone!

Kathleen_Mc

Re: About to Lose my Stinkin Mind
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2012, 02:18:28 am »
Over the years I have tried different methods to attack this, from right out telling people my issues without asking to just carring on like I'm no different that anyone else......each has had various outcomes....I have been perceived as "whining, making excuses to not do work, professional, crazy" but the best yet was a coworker who accused me of lying about being hearing impaired! (that took the cake, she thought I was lying to get out of doing work!). You just need to do this the way it feels best for you.Kathleen
1st AN surgery @ age 23, 16 hours
Loss of 7-10th nerves
mulitple "plastic" repairs to compensate for effects of 7th nerve loss
tumor regrowth, monitored for a few years then surgically removed @ age 38 (of my choice, not medically necessary yet)

millie

« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2012, 07:24:11 pm »
Hi-I had translab October 17th and had some facial droop due to facial nerve recovery ...it has gotten better...it takes time...  When I felt comfortable to go out and about, I just told people I looked a little funny because I was recovering from brain surgery and I was getting better.  People are pretty supportive... some people say they didn't even see anything wrong with my face.