Author Topic: trying to make a decision but so many opinions  (Read 6767 times)

riggsflute

trying to make a decision but so many opinions
« on: July 19, 2012, 09:56:38 pm »
So I just had my 3rd office consult as well as 1 phone consult so far and I feel I'm no closer to making a tx decision.  As a musician, I am really hoping for my best chance at saving some hearing but each dr has given me a different opinion as to what might be possible and how to do that.  ENT said, do trans-lab and forget hearing.  Neuro said, do retro-sigmoid because tumor is too close to cochlea to radiate and save hearing.  Phone consult with Slattery at HEI said possibly still radiation or middle-fossa to save hearing.  Todays radiation dr says not sure about hearing but do radiation.  Part of me just wants to laugh the other part wants to cry & pray.  I know this is a decision that only I can make and I'm sure in the end I'll be able to, but tonight I just wanted someone who has been through this to hear me and understand the frustration. 
Julie

wwarr

• Attitude is everything =)
    • www.photobucket.com
Re: trying to make a decision but so many opinions
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2012, 10:35:28 pm »
Julie,
I hear you and understand your frustration!!!  It is so hard making the decision of which treatment to pursue.  I think its the hardest part of your AN journey.  My suggestion too you is follow your gut feeling and let that lead you.  Pray about it and you will know.  Do what feels right for you! That's what I did.  Everyone here suggested a translab but I took am a musician vocalist and wanted to try to save my hearing.  I did what my gut told me to do, and did it.  It wasn't until I made that decision that I felt peace.