Author Topic: Auditory nerve supposedly in tact-how long til I know if it will ever function?  (Read 3713 times)

spgreenfield

A month ago I had the suboccipital surgery for my AN.  I am currently SSD but wondering IF the nerve will heal at all and my hearing come back....I know this is a long shot - but hey - I'm a realist and my surgeon said that he had "signal" all the way until he closed me up....so maybe?  I've been reading about the BAHA and it looks wonderful!  If I'm going to be permanently SSD then I want to give this gadget a try......but as a realist, I wouldn't want to do it too soon.  I know that nerves take a long time to heal and grow back....any thoughts out there?
Pam in South Dakota

MRI & DX on 10/17/11, 2.8 x 2.3 x 2.3 cm cystic & solid mass
Left suboccipital Surgery with Dr. Tew at Mayfield Clinic in Cincinnati on 1/10/12
SSD but no nerves cut in surgery. BAHA implant 8/2012
Facial weakness almost gone!
Acupuncture helping face
Tear duct plug on 4/4/12

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
I'm not a doctor and could be mistaken but from what I've read about the hearing nerve, once it's compromised by the AN and rendered non-functioning, hearing does not return post-op.  However, note that I would be pleased to be proven wrong.  :)

Jim 
4.5 cm AN diagnosed 5/06.  Retrosigmoid surgery 6/06.  Follow-up FSR completed 10/06.  Tumor shrinkage & necrosis noted on last MRI.  Life is good. 

Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is.  The way we cope with it is what makes the difference.

spgreenfield

I would like to prove you wrong!  LOL!  My hearing was perfect until the surgery.  And he performed the suboccipital in order to attempt to preserve the hearing.....so the AN other than being taken out did nothing to my auditory nerve.  It was the surgery and as I said he had signal up until closing.....so it's a mystery!
Pam in South Dakota

MRI & DX on 10/17/11, 2.8 x 2.3 x 2.3 cm cystic & solid mass