Author Topic: Perplexed and frightened newbie here.  (Read 6923 times)

Marzipancat

Perplexed and frightened newbie here.
« on: November 28, 2011, 06:12:03 pm »
Hi all,

I have been looking at many of your postings and realize that you are a helpful and supportive group, so I want to introduce myself.

And to think that about a month ago, I - a creative, active and happy 51 year old woman - felt perfectly healthy!

My first symptom was a facial palsy that makes me unable to smile on the right side or raise my eyebrow. I also can't wink my right eye very well and am using eye drops throughout the day and taping my eye shut at night. Fun stuff! At first, I was diagnosed as having Bell's Palsy and I was on a prednisone regimen for about 11 days.

The hearing loss on my right side came shortly after that and sent me to have an MRI which revealed that I had a schwannoma a little over 1 cm in size which was causing me the trouble. The left one is very small and I can hear perfectly well on that side (In fact, I think it may be compensating for the severe loss in my right ear).

I am also very dizzy and off-balance and this is driving me crazy. Are there any exercises I can do to help with this? I tried meclezine and it was useless.

Luckily I live near Boston with its excellent MDs and research. A week ago I saw an otolaryngologist, Dr. McKenna, at the Mass. Eye and Ear Infirmary. He advices against surgery at this time and wants the palsy symptoms to improve even more before even considering it. He is also referring me to another oto specializing in facial palsies. I'll be seeing a neurosurgeon, Dr. Baker, at MGH come Dec. 12. Finally, I'll be connecting with Dr. Plotkin, who runs the NF clinic, as soon as I send him my MRI and info this week.