Author Topic: Hello and a question about facial paralysis  (Read 3799 times)

amymeri

Hello and a question about facial paralysis
« on: June 21, 2006, 07:34:12 pm »
I should have introduced myself.  I am Amy, a 39 year old mother of two boys (15,11) and married 1 years.  I was diagnosed in March 06 after experiencing right sided chin/jaw numbness.  I never had any measurable hearing loss so it took awhile for anyone to figure out what was going on (the original neurologist thought I was imagining my symptoms!).

I work as a nurse practitioner and have been able to take 4 months off as I recover from a 13 hour neurosurgery in April.  I have complete right sided facial paralysis although my nerve was working normally before and after surgery.  I also have hearing loss and facial numbness on the right but the paralysis is by far the worst part of this.

Does anyone know predictors for recovery of facial function?  My nerve was intact and working fine after surgery (tested before, during and after) and I didn't have paralysis for 2-3 days after surgery.  I am hopeful it will recover but 10 weeks out and very little progress.

Its good to find this site.  Sometimes I feel pretty alone.

Amy
Amy

4 cm right AN removed restrosigmoid 4/13/06
Partial facial paralysis, SSD and trigeminal numbness for now

nannettesea

Re: Hello and a question about facial paralysis
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2006, 08:26:17 pm »
amy,
if you had full facial function post-op, you should get most if not all back (my doc told me that--the nerve just has been traumatized).   I was slightly droopy and had it back after about 10 weeks, so it might take you a little longer.
Don't be discouraged...it takes time.
Nan
1.7cm x 1.4cm x .8cm, right ear
Trans-lab approach
Dr. Jay Rubinstein, U of WA
8/29/05

ppearl214

• Administrator
  • ANA Forum Policewoman - PBW Cursed Cruise Director
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2006, 08:36:32 pm »
Hi Amy,