Author Topic: Trying to help my mom make the right choice!  (Read 5733 times)

SonDek

Trying to help my mom make the right choice!
« on: October 01, 2011, 06:16:45 pm »
Hi all,

I'm new to this and have posted in a couple of other threads so far -- just trying to put my specific questions in the most appropriate thread, but now I'm trying to sum it all up here.  Also, I'm writing on behalf of my mother because I can type much faster :)

So my mother is 65 years old - tomorrow! - and she was diagnosed on Sept 3 with a 3cm by 2.8 cm by 2.9 cm (although one doc said one of the measurements was 2.5??  How can they vary so much?).

She has no symptoms that bother her day to day.

She has been having problems with her blood pressure, up and down, up and down.  When it's high, it is very high ... as high as 190.  The doctors didn't comment on this, but I'm wondering whether this will increase her risk for, say, stroke during surgery?? I know that's a question for the doctors, but I'm wondering -- has anyone else had the surgery, while they had high blood pressure? 

She is tempted to watch and wait and see what an MRI 6 months from now shows, but we've been scared by the stats about the increased risk to the facial nerve, the larger the tumour gets.

We are in Toronto -- well, Mississauga, really -- the surgery is already scheduled to take place Oct 14th at Trillium with Dr. Izukawa, and Dr. Chen from Sunnybrook.

We need to make a choice pronto as to whether to bypass this date or not.

I know people end up waiting for months and months if not more for a surgery date, and it feels a little like looking a gift horse in the mouth by turning this date down.

I know Dr. Chen is experienced and well-known but I have no idea about the neurosurgeon, Dr. Izukawa. 

I think that sums it up!

Any advice is appreciated, but yes, I know, it's ultimately up to my mom to make the choice she is comfortable with. So hard!!

Thanks everyone,
Sonya