Author Topic: Darlene's Sugery  (Read 5379 times)

Darlene

Darlene's Sugery
« on: July 01, 2009, 08:52:17 pm »
Darlene asked me to post this (which I've never done before so forgive me if it doesn't work)

Darlene had surgery today at NYU with Dr's Golfinos and Roland. It took a little longer than we expected but at 6 hours ( including prep time) that seems about what we were told. Dr's were pleased with the surgery. Tests in the OR indicated good facial nerve reposnse although we should expect some weakness in the short term. The tumor was pretty close to / involved with the cochlea so at this time, we are unsure about the hearing preservation. This doesn't come as a surprise; we were told that this was a possibilty.

Up at 4 AM.... in NYC at 6AM.....into surgery at 8:15 AM........spoke to doctors at 2:15.... saw Darlene in recovery at 3:15.... she was up in a room by 6:30 where she is resting (thanks to the help of narcotics).....a long day.

I don't know any of you but I owe you all a big thank you. Darlene doesn't just jump into anything. She researches everything until she finds what she wants and then she proceeds. ( I always tell her....."women shop....men buy") I'm glad she shopped and and I glad she found people like each of you to offer advice, comments and guidance. Thank you....all of you and here's to Darlene's speedy recovery

Craig

DX: 12/6/08
1.4cm intracanicular -Middle Fossa Surgery on 7/1/09 @ NYU. Hearing preserved and speech discrimination has actually gotten better!!   Temporary Facial Paralysis- showing improvement.  1yr post-op hearing test- same 96% speech recognition- yeah!

sgerrard

Re: Darlene's Sugery
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2009, 09:03:55 pm »
here's to Darlene's speedy recovery

Hear, hear.

It sounds like she is off to a good start. Give her a couple of days in the hospital, and a few weeks of resting at home. Best wishes and take care.

Steve
8 mm left AN June 2007,  CK at Stanford Sept 2007.