Author Topic: remeron  (Read 7465 times)

ernie h

remeron
« on: June 30, 2009, 01:32:58 pm »
has anyone had experience with remeron for sleep/depression etc.i've been on 7.5 mg for a few weeks.it helps my sleep.but hasn't improved my mood (yet).i know it's early.but something is making my tinnitus in my bad ear worse.maybe it's this.doctor doesn't have an answer for sure.looks like any of these medicines can cause about anything to happen.esp to different people.i'm almost 2 yr's post op.still having bal issues depression etc.any input would be appreciated.
ernie.r side ana removed aug 07 by dr peter black and doctor quinton gopen.brigham and womens hosp boston mass.

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: remeron
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2009, 03:04:10 pm »
Ernie ~

I'm not a doctor and I've never taken Remeron so I can't speak from personal experience but I do know that just about every prescription medication for sleep and/or depression will have some side-effects.  I've read that Remeron can initially induce over-eating and subsequent weight gain as one of it's side-effects.  I believe that this kind of drug needs time to take effect, especially on your mood.  I would give it a bit more time to work but as often happens, your doctor may have to 'experiment' with various medications at varying levels to find one that offers you good sleep without negative side effects and that can alter your mood, somewhat.  The tinnitus may be affected by weather (barometric conditions) or, possibly, medication.  Ask your doctor.

Jim
4.5 cm AN diagnosed 5/06.  Retrosigmoid surgery 6/06.  Follow-up FSR completed 10/06.  Tumor shrinkage & necrosis noted on last MRI.  Life is good. 

Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is.  The way we cope with it is what makes the difference.

goinbatty

« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2009, 07:28:15 am »