Author Topic: 2 weeks post-op  (Read 1457 times)

Kathy M

• Kathy
2 weeks post-op
« on: January 28, 2009, 05:40:32 pm »
Wow has this been an amazing two weeks!  2 weeks ago,  I came out of an 8 hour surgery really well.  Still doing ok, but now all that I've read about the ups and downs of recovery are coming home!  I got my staples out on Monday and I'm back on steroids following some horrifically long nights of headaches.  I'm also on a new pain med. My physical therapy started at home this week and the assistant said today that I have a 102 degree fever.  I was a little alarmed but he said not to be.  (Is that ok?)  He said that sometimes with the increase in steroids, that happens.  I left a message on the nurses's voice mail today just in case, but haven't heard back (she might be snowed / iced in with this midwest winter storm).  Right now, I feel pretty good (perhaps a steroid euphoria), but know tomorrow all bets could be off! 

That's it for now....I think my husband is cooking dinner! (I am so lucky!!!!)
AN diagnosed 11/14/08, 3+cm, Retrosigmoid 1/13/09, Univ. Hosp., Cincinnati, Drs. Tew and Pensak
no facial nerve or eye issues!
3 more surgeries related to staph infections & osteomylitis over next 13 months.  New diagnosis of breast cancer.  Treatment completed 08/27/10.  Moving on!!!

Pooter

• The Official Breeze Conjurer - PBW
    • Blog Website
Re: 2 weeks post-op
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 05:58:45 pm »
Glad you're doing well so quickly aside from the dreaded headaches and now fever.  I'm sure that steroids can cause an elevation of fever among other things.  You're right to confirm with your doctor/nurse.  Just remember, slow and steady wins the race.  It's not a sprint but a marathon, recovery is.  So long as you are making progress, no matter how small, then you're doing just fine..