Author Topic: Recovery Time post surgery  (Read 3773 times)

Dawn

Recovery Time post surgery
« on: December 07, 2008, 01:27:34 pm »
I am considering surgery to remove the AN but am wondering about how long it took people to get back to work.  I have a somewhat physical job.  I am a Physical Therapist Assistant and I'm required to do a lot of bending and leaning over patients while I'm treating them.  I also do a lot of walking back and forth and instructed in exercises, while its not vigerous it is a lot of movement.  I have no idea about how long I would be out of work should I decide to go for surgery.  Any comments on recovery time would be great.  Thanks
Diagnosed 12/08...4mm Left AN in IAC...Wait and Watch for now...Next MRI scheduled for 8/09 Doctors not sure if its AN, Lipoma or Hemangioma????

Also diagnosed with Chiari I Malformation - looking into options for that

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
Re: Recovery Time post surgery
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2008, 01:43:00 pm »
Hi, Dawn and welcome to the forum.

As with most things AN, recovery post op is different for just about everyone.  Docs will tell you it's typically six weeks before you're back to work, but a lot depends on you and the side-effects you encounter.  The nature of your job, and what it involves, also is a factor.  Most of the things that prevent patients from going back to work for a time are balance issues, dizzyness, eye issues and fatigue.

IMO fatigue was the biggest factor that I encountered.  My docs warned me it would be extreme, but I didn't actually appreciate what they were telling me until I experienced it for myself.  The first time I took a shower I found I needed to lay down and take a nap  :P  But things quickly progressed from there.