Author Topic: New with 3.8 cm AN  (Read 5683 times)

Alicia678

New with 3.8 cm AN
« on: November 08, 2008, 11:11:51 pm »
Hi everyone

My name is Alicia, Im 24 and I was diagnosed with a large (3.8cm) AN a few weeks ago. Ironically enough I'm a nurse and had my MRI in the hospital I work at. I looked up the scan the next day at work (a sunday) and found a mass. Good thing I work on an oncology floor with lots of doctors who have seen lots of different tumors and they were able to help me find a neurosurgeon that day before having the "official" results.  I have absolutely no hearing symptoms or hearing loss on my auditory test. The ENT that is doing part of my surgery said "with a tumor that large it is very unheard of to have no hearing loss" My question is has anyone else been in this situation? This is a great website and source of support!
« Last Edit: November 11, 2008, 02:21:41 pm by Forum Admin »

kmancini

New with 3.8 cm AN
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2008, 10:29:13 am »
Hi my name is Karen.  I am 53 yrs. old.  I had a little hearing loss for a couple of years.  Then about a year ago the hearing got worse so I went to an ENT doctor.  Thank God I went there instead of my primary doctor.  They found a 1.5 cm tumor.  I had no other symptons.  I had surgery 4-8-08. I had complications ever since.  Had 2 lumbar drains and 4 surgeries for csf leaks.  Hoping this last one works.  I just found this site also.  Love it knowing other people are in same situation.  I have no hearing in that ear.  Had BAHA implant last week.  Hope everything works out for you.

Karen
An surgery 4-8-08
lumbar drain 4-22-08
csf leak repair 5-30-08 7-11-08 10-6 -08and 10-24-08
BAHA on 10-24-08
university hosp in Cleveland
Dr Megarian and Dr Selman

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
New with 3.8 cm AN
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2008, 10:43:20 am »
Hi Alicia and welcome.  I'm sorry you have an AN, but not sorry you found us.  This is a great place to be if you have an AN.