Author Topic: 2.5months POST SURGERY..HELP  (Read 6183 times)

Battyp

2.5months POST SURGERY..HELP
« on: November 14, 2005, 12:11:24 am »
I had my surgery aug 23rd at moffit cncer center in tampa.  Was told various things by various doctors had several consults, read the literature and find myself very frustrated.  I had a 2.54 cm tumor on my left side accoridng to the mri films but was told it was bigger once they got inside.  Everything I read said I should be back to work in 6 weeks and i'm to the point wondering if I'll even make it back in Jan as I planned.  I'm a teacher.  My balance is still off, my left ear is ringing and now the right too, and I def. have hearing loss, left eye doesn't tear and I have trouble managing normal household things like laundry, cleaning and cooking.  I'm also a single parent and financially am starting to panic.  I still can't sleep on the surgical side, my face, mouth, tongue is still numb (no idea if or when it might go away) still dribble without a straw...was told the pressure to my brain stem pre surgery was incredible and it was a wonder i was even alive so I'm trying to be thankful that I am but am beginning to wonder if this is as good as It's going to get and how to accept my fate.  any one have any encouragement?  The first month after surgery I had phot sensitive vision and spent my days in the dark, they thought I had a seizure post op but now are questioning that, had major problems with my blood pressure which I had not had previously (now down to two meds instead of 4) off the steriods which of course made me gain a bunch of weight..don't let the doctors tell you you shouldnt be hungry (post op I didn't sleep, mind raced and was hungry constantly), thanks for listening, Michelle
« Last Edit: November 14, 2005, 12:28:13 am by battyprincess »

wind6

• Winch Wench ;)
Re: 2.5months POST SURGERY..HELP
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2005, 01:34:45 pm »