Author Topic: Eye damage  (Read 5411 times)

Don

Eye damage
« on: February 28, 2008, 12:54:40 pm »
 Following my operation to remove my tumor I was seen by an opthamoligist who did a slit lamp on me and put some goop im my eye and patched it? I am NO stranger to eye injuries I was a sheet metal mechanic in the Navy for 21 years and also had my retina detached in the left eye during my stay from abuse at the re-hab gulag, so I was puzzled to say the least . Well they told me to put the cream in and keep the eye taped up? So I asked my wife if my eye was open at night and she said no, but it kept getting worse and at one point I was wearing swim goggles to sleep in and the goop was melting the plastic? Finally the pain got so bad I wanted them to remove the eye and they were trying to get me to fly to Honolulu to get the eyelid sewn shut? Finally my GP here gave me a script for some cocaine eye drops which were magic, ALWAYS I repeat always get 2nd opinions if possible as after months of extreme pain I went to a new eye clinic and they ordered a topographic scan of my left eye and just the tip of the cornea is tore up? If my eye was open the whole eye would dry out so this leads me to believe me left eye was not patched properly and was ground into the patch for 9 hours and damaged but they wont admit it in fact there is no record of the Opthamologists examination the next day and I know who the guy is as he re-attached my retina less than a year before, be very careful as my life has been impacted severely by this event and since I live where I do I cant get the time of day as of now I am trying to find if it is possible to remove the scar tissue which blurs my vision in that eye and causes it irritation 24/7 

nancyann

• carpe diem
Re: Eye damage
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2008, 04:21:43 pm »
Geez louise - that pain is horrendous!   I had a tear on my cornea (accidently happened during a recent surgery) - thank goodness they took me to