Author Topic: WHAT I DID TO KEEP MY EYE CLOSED AT NIGHT AND IT WORKED!!!!!!!!!!  (Read 17749 times)

CROOKEDSMILE

I TRIED TAPING, PATCHING, GAUZE BUNDLED UP IN A PIRATE PATCH AND MY EYE WOULD STILL POP OPEN EVEN WITH ALL OF THIS AND I WOULD WAKE UP WITH A RED EYE FROM AIR EXPOSURE AND DRYING OUT. I AM A TENNIS PLAYER AND WHAT WORKED FOR ME WAS TAKING MY WHITE TENNIS STRETCHY SWEAT BAND FOR THE FOREHEAD AND PULLING IT DOWN OVER MY EYES. BOTH OF THEM. I WOULD MANUALLY CLOSE THE BAD EYE AND BRING THE TERRY CLOTH SWEATBAND OVER BOTH EYES AND IT WOULD TIGHT ENOUGH THAT IT KEPT THE EYE CLOSED ALL NIGHT AND IT WAS VERY COMFORTABLE. NO MORE TAPE TO PULL OFF IN THE MORNING! YOU CAN BUY THESE AT WALMART OR ANY SPORTS STORE. I BOUGHT THE WIDEST ONE I COULD FIND AND SOME FIT TIGHTER THAN OTHERS SO BUY SEVERAL UNTIL YOU FIND ONE THAT IS COMFY. THIS SOUNDS CRAZY BUT I AM A REGISTERED NURSE FOR 13 YEARS AND HAVE FOUND THAT SOME OF THE BEST TREATMENTS ARE THE ONES THAT WE COME UP WITH OURSELVES! IT WORKED BEAUTIFULLY FOR ME AND I HOPE IT WILL HELP ANYONE ELSE THAT HAS A STUBBORN PARALYZED EYE THAT WON'T CLOSE DURING SLEEP. I NOW HAVE THE WEIGHT IN MY EYE SO I DON'T USE IT ANYMORE. GOOD LUCK AND LET ME KNOW IF IT HELPS ANYONE ELSE. I FOUND IT A BLESSING.
CROOKEDSMILE.

lori67

Re: WHAT I DID TO KEEP MY EYE CLOSED AT NIGHT AND IT WORKED!!!!!!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2008, 09:30:12 am »
Crooked - that sounds like a great idea.  I don't really have a big problem that the gel can't handle at night, but I know others will find it helpful.

I'm a nurse too - which of course means you have to be like MacGyver and very creative sometimes.

Lori
Right 3cm AN diagnosed 1/2007.  Translab resection 2/20/07 by Dr. David Kaylie and Dr. Karl Hampf at Baptist Hospital in Nashville.  R side deafness, facial nerve paralysis.  Tarsorraphy and tear duct cauterization 5/2007.  BAHA implant 11/8/07. 7-12 nerve jump 9/26/08.

JDaner

« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2008, 11:31:10 am »
Hello,