Author Topic: cognitive issues after translab  (Read 6286 times)

bafisher

cognitive issues after translab
« on: April 21, 2007, 08:15:25 am »
Huh?  I first wrote what is below as a reply but I thin I want to start a new thread.  Bear with me.....I'm new to online forums!!!

I am considering this approach and am concerned with the cognitive issues.  My job is very cognitive in nature ( I am an electircal designer/engineer and I do CAD drafting and basically work with my brain rather than my brawn).  I'm wondering how long before I can return to work and function properly.

My bosses and co-workers are very understanding as I'm the queen of "weird" medical issues and they have always been extremely supportive!!!  They now understand why I'm always saying.......Is that my phone ringing?  or Huh?, Pardon, I'm sorry, What?........etc., and don't look at me weird when I ask them to stand or sit on my "good" side!!!

Will educating everyone be enough or will I not be able to do my job?

Thanks to all you forum folks.  This place is extremely helpful to me.

nancyann

• carpe diem
Re: cognitive issues after translab
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2007, 10:38:15 am »
Hi there:  I went back to work 2 months post op, 1st 2 weeks part time.   At first I couldn't keep up the pace as before, my job is dealing with insurance cos., alot of talking on the phone, computer stuff, arguing patients' cases.   I told my boss after the 1st week that I didn't think I could do this - like your work group everyone was great, no one expected me to get right back into the swing.    You may be a little slower at first, find yourself exhaursted at the end of the day, but after a time I hope it works out as well for you as it has for me.
All the best,   Nancy
2.2cm length x 1.7cm width x 1.3cm  depth
retrosigmoid 6/19/06
Gold weight 7/19/06, removed 3/07
lateral tarsel strip X3
T3 procedure 11/20/07
1.6 Gm platinum weight 7/10/08
lateral canthal sling 11/14/08
Jones tube insert right inner eye 2/27/09