Author Topic: cyberknife vs gammaknife?  (Read 2360 times)

hollo321

cyberknife vs gammaknife?
« on: August 16, 2023, 12:44:32 am »
hey im leaning towards radiation rather than retrosig surgery of my 1.7 tumor since from what i read on this forum sounds like its better for hearing preservation, but another decision is what kind of radiation as im not so familiar of the benefits of one over the other. Im a musician so saving my hearing is my top priority.
Is one known to be better than the other in terms of hearing preservation?
« Last Edit: August 16, 2023, 12:50:24 am by hollo321 »

DanFouratt

Re: cyberknife vs gammaknife?
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2023, 11:39:16 am »
I am in your shoes trying to decide between surgery and radiation.  In my research my understanding is gamma and cyber are similar in the radiation delivered, they are simply two different machines from different companies.  I am putting a matrix together with my findings, trying to understand the pluses and minus of all approaches.  I am meeting a retired Chair of Radiation Oncology later this week and will specifically ask him your question.
Dan Fouratt             63 years old
Vestibular Schwannoma
Discovered 9/15/21  5mm x 11mm
MRI 4/11/22            No change
MRI 1/9/23              7mm x 13 mm
MRI 6/19/23            No change
CK  9/15/23             TBD Not Scheduled

bri-82

• You gotta be kidding ...
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2023, 01:42:02 pm »
I've had both (neither really worked well for me). But I've heard that GK is more precise...

~BM
4.5 cm Right AN.
Sub-occip. Surgery 2011 @ Wash. Hosp. Center
Gamma Knife 2012 @ Wash. Hosp. Center
Translabrythine Surgery 2017 @ Johns Hopkins
Cyber Knife 2022 @ Johns Hopkins
Sub-occip. Surgery 2023 @ Johns Hopkins

ANviolist

« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2023, 11:50:58 pm »