Author Topic: Retrosigmoid or translab surgery Australia  (Read 3572 times)

Somi

Retrosigmoid or translab surgery Australia
« on: August 30, 2020, 06:06:50 pm »
Hi everyone,im new in this page and I don’t know how to start.I’m 38 years old and living Adelaide in Australia.
My daughter was born 6 months ago,I have had a bad headache for two consecutive nights after birth that’s why the doctors decided to do a MRI and it turned out that I have acoustic neuroma on left side.the tumour size is 28mm*22mm*18mm.
It’s been a huge shock to me. I did not know if I should be happy for the birth of my first child, a cute girl,or be sad for have a tumor in my head.and also with no family around it’s the worst thing that ever happened to me...
After that I searched the internet so much and read a lot of bitter and sad news that it made me very anxious and stressed.
Any way,after 6 months I did a new MRI which shows that the tumor has not changed.thats why I’m thinking to wait for 6 more months to do new MRI and keep monitoring that my daughter will grow up more and also the borders will be open and I can apply for a visa for my mother to come and look after my baby...
I am currently researching which surgery is best for this operation.I had consulted with many doctors
dr Stephen santoreneos in Royal Adelaide hospital who’s neurosurgeon and advice me to do retrosigmoid surgery and At the moment I’m in waiting list for surgery but I’m not sure if I do or not.
Prof Paul fagan in Sydney who’s ENT surgeon and advise me translab surgery.he is retired now and not doing any surgery but he recommended dr Nigel Biggs (ENT surgeon) who’s trained by prof.
I really get confused and don’t know what to do.its like I don’t have a power to think and decide...
I'm very scared and the thought that the facial nerve might be damaged drives me crazy...
Friends, based on your experiences, which surgery is better? What do you think I should do?