Author Topic: Post-Surgery Fatigue  (Read 1968 times)

Anne Amis

Post-Surgery Fatigue
« on: December 19, 2018, 08:58:22 am »
Hello all,
I'm about 7 weeks past surgery and am still on FMLA leave from work. I return to my full time job on January 3. I'm wondering about fatigue and low energy and what I should expect -- when will I/might I feel back to normal or is will diminished energy be a new normal? I know that this will get better as my surgery is still pretty recent, but I'd like to let the people I work with know what my limits are going back to work (I'm an administrator at a community college and am on email and in meetings all the time where response rates are expected to be pretty immediate, even outside of working hours). I'm find that if I do one or two activities in the day (like go to the grocery store or drive a short distance, which I started doing about two weeks ago), I am wiped out for the rest of the day. I am walking 1-2 miles most days and just started back into some gentle yoga and movement.

Any suggestions on how to best increase energy levels, treat fatigue? For some reason, too, it seems like I can't sleep as much -- I'm getting between 6-7 hours most nights, (whereas before getting between 7-8 was more normal) and some nights, I'm waking up in the middle of the night (3:00 or 4:00am) and can't get back to sleep. Any suggestions on diet to increase energy? I'm cutting sugar and carbs but am curious if anyone has any advice.

Thanks in advance!
AN 2.1cm right ear diagnosed 11/2104; no symptoms
Watched and waited four years; stable and no symptoms
AN growth to 2.39 cm detected 9/2018
Retrosigmoid Surgery done at MD Anderson 11/1/2018
Tumor fully removed; near to total hearing loss right ear; facial nerves issues; fatigue

MT

• Hoping to recover from facial palsy...
Re: Post-Surgery Fatigue
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2018, 10:35:13 am »
Hello Anne,