Author Topic: Dizziness and Hearing Loss after G.K  (Read 4098 times)

Gearbox123

Dizziness and Hearing Loss after G.K
« on: June 14, 2017, 03:25:43 pm »
Hi Everyone,  I am new to Radiation section because I was on W and W for about 5 yrs. My tumor was very small for many years 3 mm in 2012 to about 6mm x 5mm x4mm in 2016 MRI scan. I had Gamma Knife Radiation at N.Y.U with Dr.Kondziolka team last Wednesday so it only a week. The 1st 2 days no real problems minor headaches at pin sites my usual pressure fullness earaches,  by Saturday my hearing in effected ear  was shot and sounded as if everyone was underwater. I have always had balance issues and very mild hearing loss . The balance issues were if I felt I just got off a ship, but now I am experiencing more like spinning feeling the vertigo feelings everyone has talked about. I am currently on steroids, Methylprednisolone 4mg cycle just started the other day. I took my shot with G.K to clear up my problem and reduce the chance of the tumor creating single sided deafness,  so I can only hope that it's early in the game and things will get better,  any suggestions or similar experiences are welcomed. I have been to Vestibular Therapy before so I am hoping that will be next if nothing else changes. Thanks in advance . All the best and God bless!

rupert

Re: Dizziness and Hearing Loss after G.K
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2017, 07:07:21 pm »
Rest is the ticket.  More rest than you think you need.  Many on here have experienced some wonkiness from time to time and rest can really help.  As time goes on the episodes will become less frequent and shorter duration.  I would only be guessing but, probably the stress of the procedure is catching up to you even if you don't realize it.  Good luck to you.

Gearbox123

« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2017, 08:07:42 pm »
Will do. Thank you.

PaulW

« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2017, 08:09:27 am »
It's not unusual for your hearing to decline suddenly and for you to get dizzy.