Author Topic: Synkenesis?  (Read 5926 times)

Machia2332

Synkenesis?
« on: January 26, 2017, 09:07:38 pm »
Hi, I'm about 7 months post surgery for a 3.4 cm AN.  On the affected side my eye has recovered well and I've been doing exercises (for 7 months) to work on the facial muscle recovery.  While I have maybe 80% function again on the affected side, I've started having some synkenesis.  When I smile, the muscles near my eye on the affected side contract at the same time.  If I smile wide enough to show my teeth, the muscles in my neck contract on the affected side.  My physical therapist thinks developing the synkenesis is related to trying too hard with the exercises that other muscle groups are also activated.  I really don't think that is what is causing it.  Could this be a temporary sort of thing that is just part of the healing process for the facial nerve? 

Thanks,

Charles

JLR

Re: Synkenesis?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2017, 05:33:52 am »
Hi Charles, I'm 3 months post op. 2.7 AN retrosig. Have facial paralysis affected side. Right side. That is improving slowly. But my eye has not. Did you have eye problems that recovered? I'm not sure about your other issue. I'm fearful of having that so I try to do my Facial exercises slowly but there's no guarantee that I won't wind up with those muscle spasms. This whole surgery has been quite journey. Joan

Machia2332

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2017, 07:41:55 pm »