Author Topic: Hi folks...Newbie here having first MRI on Monday  (Read 5306 times)

erinchita

Hi folks...Newbie here having first MRI on Monday
« on: October 27, 2006, 10:02:33 am »
Hello everyone,

I just stumbled across this forum in my incessant googling, and I thought I'd join in.  I'm a 27 year old female living in Washington, D.C. but originally from NY.  I'm having an MRI with contrast on Monday 10/30 and I'm having some anxiety about it, so I wanted to post my story to see if anyone has had similar experiences and can perhaps offer some support.

I started having episodes of vertigo a few months ago.  During the month of August, my left ear felt clogged, like it had to pop, for about a week.  It was really bothering me, but it eventually went away.  In mid-September, I was out at a street fair and had a major vertigo attack.  I couldn't even stand up.  I had noticed my ear starting to feel clogged again earlier that week, and over the next few days it got progressively worse, accompanied by tinnitus.  Since I moved here recently and don't have a PCP yet, I went to an urgent care clinic that I had been to before.  I have a history of severe allergies and sinus problems, so the PA diagnosed me with labrynthitis and advised me to continue with antihistamines.