Author Topic: 3 Months Post Op - Hoping For Hearing  (Read 2628 times)

Tram Le-Jones

3 Months Post Op - Hoping For Hearing
« on: December 12, 2015, 01:59:03 am »
Hi, everyone:

It's my first time posting here, though I've been reading the forum for months.  I really enjoy th community here :D I wanted to share my story here, as well as get some advice and give any advice to those just going through the journey. 

I was originally diagnosed on Jan 26th, 2015 after temporarily loosing my hearing in my right ear, out of nowhere.  Steroid treatment helped it come back.  It was small, about 5mm.  I saw a few doctors and weighed my options.  I decided on surgery.  I didn't want to wait too long to do it, but I also didn't want to worry about what "might" happen if it grew larger/faster, especially as my husband and I just got married last year and are hoping to have a family very soon.  I selected Dr Friedman and Dr Giannotta of Keck Medicine after referrals and months of researching for the best doctors in Acoustic Neuromas. The care I received and follow through have been outstanding. I underestimated the brain though. I’ve always prided myself on being tough, on being quick to recover but this was a totally different deal from any other kind of surgery. I thought that my tiny tumor wouldn’t be a huge deal for recovery. I was wrong.