Author Topic: Reason for decision  (Read 13221 times)

tcrnko

Re: Reason for decision
« Reply #15 on: October 10, 2006, 04:32:30 pm »
Unfortunately I cannot comment on Kaiser as a Neuro Nurse.  When I did Neuro, I was with Sutter General in Sacramento and Loma Linda University In Sothern Cal.  I am an administrator with Kaiser.
As for the team,  Having a neurosurgeon only do the job is what I am used too.  Adding the Neuro-otologist is an advantage for me.  I am more used to this being primary neurosurgery.  The rest of your team is the usual.  Sorry but I canot comment on your doc either.  Keep researching on this site and others.  I found mine mentioned, I'm sure you will find yours.
"Used to be a Neuro Nurse, Believe it or not."
1.8 x 1.6 x 1.7 AN Left Side
TransLab on 1/10/07.
Drs Mastrodonas & Cueva, Kaiser San Diego

Mark

« Reply #16 on: October 10, 2006, 05:26:48 pm »
Joe,

I was a Kaiser patient when I was diagnosed in 2001 and was sent to see Dr. Koral and Dr Nutik in redwood city. I didn't like either one and was fortunate my company also had a PPO plan so I opted out to seek out the best in class, not the best of kaiser. I don't know what size your AN is but if radiosurgery is an option for you then Kaiser will send people to Stanford for CK, but you have to push it. Nutik is a surgeon and that's all he understands or will discuss. Most AN procedures outside of Kaiser that I am familiar with use both a neuro and a Oto doctor ( UCSF and Stanford, which are both ranked in top 20 in neurosurgery and I've yet to see a kaiser facility so recognized). If you have to stay within kaiser for surgery, then Nutik is probably your guy, like it or not. I'm sure he is a very competent surgeon, but it might be good to ask him about his outcomes in terms of tumor regrowth, hearing and facial nerve preservation

Mark
CK for a 2 cm AN with Dr. Chang/ Dr. Gibbs at Stanford
November 2001

jvastola

« Reply #17 on: November 10, 2006, 09:28:45 am »