Author Topic: Cogitive Function Post Surgery  (Read 9511 times)

simonkoch

Cogitive Function Post Surgery
« on: December 10, 2013, 12:06:02 am »
I would be interested in understanding more about the possible cognitive effects post surgery (Translab). I am an engineer and would like to continue my occupation for many years to come following surgery to remove my 2.6cm AN.  There doesn't seem to be a large amount of data on cognitive effects after surgery other than that there can be some.
My specific queries are:
- Are concentration issues typical say 3-6 months post surgery and beyond
-what are typical cognitive issues and do they remain
- Are cognitive effects generally less with Radiation option
- Do most people fully recover in this area and continue as normal
- are there any articles on this that discuss this (not from a one off rare case but typical symptoms and issues)
- Are long term effects less the younger you are?

Apologizes for the large list above, i think this is my last area in my mind to close out moving forward,
I appreciate any feedback,
regards,

Simon

leapyrtwins

• I am a success story!
Re: Cogitive Function Post Surgery
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2013, 02:36:33 pm »
I seem to recall some type of cognitive function questions on past ANA Survey's.  In my AN-time, I've taken at least two such surveys.  I think the survey results may be somewhere on the ANA's website.

My surgery was retrosigmoid approach (aka sub-occipital) rather than translab but I consider myself normal - at least as far as cognitive function goes  ;D 

I had a few very small issues post op - mostly my brain thinking one word and my mouth saying another.  For example, if I wanted to ask one of my kids "How was your day?" but I was looking at our cat it might come out as "How was your cat?".  When typing on a keyboard (something I've done for almost 40 years) my brain would be thinking "going" but I'd be typing "doing".  I'd only catch my error when I reread what I'd typed.