Author Topic: Plugs and moisture chambers- I need help!  (Read 8197 times)

GeorgiaMei

Plugs and moisture chambers- I need help!
« on: February 16, 2009, 11:46:36 pm »
Hi all.  I am curious about anyone who has had punctal plugs placed (say that 3x fast!) and what you think of them. Are they helpful?  Any downsides?
What about sustained release tear inserts or tear stimulants?

I was recently released by my neurologist to return to work and then told by my employee health dept. that I won't be allowed on the unit because my eye drops are an infectious disease risk (I am a NICU nurse).  I am totally dependent on the drops and couldn't do my job (or function) without them.   Now I am desperate to find an alternative! 

Any info would be really appreciated!

Thanks,
Karen
3.3cm x 2.6cm : Translab resect 3/08
Post-op epilepsy , multiple clots in brain sinuses
Chronic H/A, Facial paralysis, Imbalance, Vertigo
CN VIII removed-deaf in R ear
Received amazing care from Drs. Roberson and Colen at CEI/Stanford (www.californiaearinstitute.com)

saralynn143

• Sarey Sarey Quite Contrary
    • MVD diary
Re: Plugs and moisture chambers- I need help!
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2009, 06:01:52 am »
Are they a risk because you have to apply them during the day? If so, what about putting on some ointment, such as Refresh PM before your shift? Your eyesight on that side will be a fuzzy on that side, but it takes your brain no time at all to compensate.

Sara
MVD for hemifacial spasm 6/2/08
left side facial paresis
 12/100 facial function - 7/29/08
 46 - 11/25/08
 53 - 05/12/09
left side SSD approx. 4 weeks
 low-frequency hearing loss; 85% speech recognition 7/28/08
1.8 gram thin profile platinum eyelid weight 8/12/08
Fitted for scleral lens 5/9/13

Cheryl R

« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2009, 07:45:34 am »