Author Topic: Hearing Aid Suggestions  (Read 33857 times)

LADavid

Hearing Aid Suggestions
« on: February 20, 2013, 07:41:24 pm »
Got a question for those of you who wear hearing aids.  I've been wearing a Widex Inteo in my good ear since 2007 (even my good ear is bad).  It has recently started to crash on me and sent back for repairs.  I suppose I should be thankful that it's hung in there that long.  My audiologist suggested I think about getting an Oticon Alta since it has new bells and whistles like wireless Tv and Cell reception --- which also comes with a hefty price tag.  The other day I was in Costco and I noticed their hearing aid center was featuring something that sounded like Oticon but cost $1000 less.  Do any of you have experience or have talked with any one with experience with Kirkland hearing aids (Costco Brand) and how to they compare with brands like Oticon and Widex?  Any advice or direction is greatly appreciated.  There's nothing like being clinically deaf and waking up to find ones hearing aid isn't working.
Right ear tinnitus w/80% hearing loss 1985.
Left ear 40% hearing loss 8/07.
1.5 CM Translab Rt ear.
Sort of quiet around here.
http://my.calendars.net/AN_Treatments

jfspainter

Re: Hearing Aid Suggestions
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2013, 04:35:25 pm »
Right now I have a Unitron 220. It was $2300. It seems very good as I am still under the 45 day trail period. I love the t-coil feature. All you do is put the phone to your ear and talk. No pushing buttons. Love it. Also I think it is very good for speech clarification and recognition. I am totally deaf now in my left ear thanks to my AN and about 65% gone in my left ear from mumps in 1952. I have worn aids in both ears since I was 8. I am 67 now. Right now I no longervwhere an aid in my left ear as itbdidn't help. I am looking into other options.

It wouldn't hurt to try a Kirkland brand as you have 45 days to try it. Good Luck, Jane

arizonajack

• Arizona - It's a Dry Heat