Author Topic: Gamma knife vs Cyber Knife  (Read 6836 times)

allitinez

Gamma knife vs Cyber Knife
« on: February 15, 2013, 12:49:15 pm »
Need some advise please.  I am status post right side AN 9 years ago (3 cm).  Recently found out its back, tiny 6 mm but its back.  Doctor at Columbia Presbyterian in NYC (original surgeon used 9 years ago) says gamma knife 1 day procedure and Doctor at Sloan Kettering says 5 week 5 days a week procedure with Cyber knife.  I work in the radiology field (I'm a CT tech).  Head neuro-radiologist says go with 1 day procedure.  Who's right?  I'm so confused!

PaulW

Re: Gamma knife vs Cyber Knife
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2013, 02:08:02 pm »
I had single session Cyberknife. It was very easy.
Radiotherapy is typically done over 25-30 sessions.
Thats not Cyberknife.

Cyberknife for Acoustic Neuromas is most commonly done in 3 sessions. That is mainly done to potentially improve your chance of hearing preservation.
As your hearing is probably already gone after surgery I can see no reason as to why you cant get single session Cyberknife.

Treatment day for me was

Arrive 9:45am for a 10:00am appointment
Cyberknife was ready and I was lying on the machine at 10:00am
Treatment time was 35 minutes, and it was all over by 10:45am

I spent the next 30 minutes talking to the neurosurgeon about post cyberknife follow up until I had run out of questions.

I walked out around 11:25..

It was very easy...
No head frame, no drugs.
Still have my hearing after 2.5 Years
10x5x5mm AN
Sudden Partial hearing loss 5/28/10
Diagnosed 7/4/10
CK 7/27/10
2/21/11 Swelling 13x6x7mm
10/16/11 Hearing returned, balance improved. Feel totally back to normal most days
3/1/12 Sudden Hearing loss, steroids, hearing back.
9/16/13 Life is just like before my AN. ALL Good!

arizonajack

• Arizona - It's a Dry Heat
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2013, 08:00:21 pm »
I chose Gamma Knife after reading comparisons between Gamma Knife and Cyber Knife.