Author Topic: Headaches caused by noise?  (Read 13388 times)

bruces

• The Dude Abides
Headaches caused by noise?
« on: January 31, 2013, 12:33:50 pm »
This is my first day here.  I have read most of the posts in the headache section but nothing found about loud noise.

I had Acoustic Neuroma remove from my right ear in DEC 2011. I am deaf on the right.   I never had any bad headaches until Sept. 2012 which was about 8 months post operation. The pain is on the right side.  It is a dull ache (not sharp) and has been ongoing for over 3 months.  I take one advil every 4 hours with good results.  The ENT said take the advil and also vicoden and see a neurologist.

It just occurred to me that the headaches started about the time I started playing my piano.  Although this was also about the time I tried to resume an active lifestyle (sports/tennis). I have stopped the tennis but would like to keep up with the piano.   I also like to sing along with my piano playing.  My grand piano is very loud for a piano. 

Anyone else have headaches triggered by loud noise or trying to sing?...... thank you
« Last Edit: January 31, 2013, 01:18:27 pm by bruces »
AN surgery 12-09-11
Translab/ AN was 5mm x 13mm x 7mm
Right SSD (deaf right)
UC Davis Hospital Dr. Diez

CHD63

• Life is good again!!
Re: Headaches caused by noise?
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2013, 02:33:06 pm »
Hi bruces and welcome to this forum .....

So sorry you are having headache issues from loud noise.  It sounds like you may have a degree of hyperacusis (abnormal sensitivity to normal sound) in your remaining good hearing ear.