Author Topic: Newbie just diagnosed  (Read 8372 times)

kejac

Newbie just diagnosed
« on: August 14, 2012, 01:02:46 pm »
Hi all, I have been recently Diagnosed with a 10mm x 5mm AN left side.

Was on my way to the doctor on 8/6 and an overwhelming feeling came over me, decided to turn around and head to the ER.
Symptoms were numbness left side of face accompanied by alot of anxiety, I was freaking out.
They did a ct scan and an mri w/o contrast, im just learning now what with and without contrast means.
Anyways, neurologist entered my room and told me that there was an incadental finding, acoustic neuroma.

To tell the truth I am actually relieved something was found, I have been to the doc several times and a neurologist once, always being dismissed and saying i was having an anxiety attack or stressed out.

I do have a question. I am an active person, work outside doing light construction and like to keep fit.
In anyones experience can exercise or being over exertive (bringing heart rate up) trigger symptoms?

I have been referred to UCSF and am waiting for a call back from them to schedule an appointment. Untill then I thought I would ask here and introduce myself.

Thanks,
Kejac
Diagnosed with AN left side 8/6/2012
10mm x 5mm
Tumor discovered 8/2012 10x5x5
WW 6 months tumor grew 12x6x6
CK treatment Stanford 3/2014
6 month scan swelled to 15x9x9
1 year scan tumor reduced to 14x7x6
2 year scan tumor reduced to 12x6x5
3 year scan tumor stable 11x6x5
5 year scan no change 11x6x5

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: Newbie just diagnosed
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2012, 02:46:31 pm »
Hi, Kejac ~

Although I'm sorry you've been diagnosed with an acoustic neuroma, I'm glad you found the ANA website discussion forums.