Author Topic: Question about disability  (Read 15595 times)

wendymenard

Question about disability
« on: June 07, 2012, 02:46:32 pm »
Hey Everyone
I had surgery on October 25, 2011..I am 7 months post op. I am on long term disability until August...my surgeon thinks I will be able to go back to teaching in the classroom fulltime by then LOL I am laughing because I cannot stay in a classroom for an hour without getting fatigued, disoriented, and overwhelmed.. My facial muscles are still not working completely, the tinnitus is bad and gets even worse around kids..my neck, head, and shoulder stiffens up and hurts really bad when weather changes..I cannot concentrate on one thing for long without forgetting or getting tired..my thing is I am NOT reliable anymore to be a classroom teacher who has not help...I have a master's in education and I am still paying on that school loan too. My medical bills are still coming in and my husband and I are barely making the bills each month.My question is should I contact a lawyer to see what my chances would be to collect disability? Any info would be appreciated...thanks  :o :o
Retrosigmoid approach Oct 25. 2011  2.5 cm tumor on hearing nerve touching facial nerve and brain stem. Experiencing several post op issues but staying positive and creating my new normal

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: Question about disability
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2012, 04:27:50 pm »
Hi, Wendy ~

I'm sorry to learn of your AN post-op issues that are negatively affecting your quality of life and keeping you from teaching. 

It would be worth your time to contact an attorney that specializes in Social Security disability cases.  He (or she) would best be able to answer your question based on the information you would need to supply.  If your school or union medical insurance policy offers a disability clause, that should also be looked into.