Author Topic: Possible NF2... putting the baby thing on hold.  (Read 6723 times)

MaryCPereira

Possible NF2... putting the baby thing on hold.
« on: April 14, 2012, 02:38:15 pm »
Hey everyone,
I'm new to this. Just signed up for the forum, and was just diagnosed this February. As of right now, the only diagnosis is one AN on the right side. However, he said there is a possibility for NF2 because he saw a tiny little spot on the MRI scans on the left side, and also because of my age. I'm going to Dr. Santos in Boston. He called the day after my first appointment to say that they looked at the scans more and think that the left side may be a blood vessel that they saw, but we are officially in the 6 month watch and wait period.

My question, I guess, is about symptoms. I guess nothing about my AN has been "normal". I woke up one morning after a migraine with decreased hearing. I know usually its gradual, mine was not. I also have a lot of headaches, and a ton of ear pain. It feels like I constantly have an ear infection. My hearing is still pretty good, but loud noises hurt. I love Adele, but if I have it on too loudly, it hurts a lot. I now carry around the wax ear plug things, so on days when it's bad, I can just plug it up and it seems to help a little bit.
Well, unfortunately, this is also happening on the left side. In fact, all of the symptoms are happening except for the hearing loss. Tinnitus is pretty bad in the right side, which, again, was a sudden thing, but it comes and goes in the left.
I went back to Dr. Santos, and he said that it could be because I clench my teeth at night. But I have always done this, and it's never hurt like this before. Also, I followed his instructions and now wear a mouth guard at night, but the pain hasn't changed.