Author Topic: Six years and counting!  (Read 2948 times)

wind6

• Winch Wench ;)
Six years and counting!
« on: December 12, 2011, 06:05:51 pm »
Hello all,
Thought I should write my update since I have been away for some time. I never meant to stay away but somehow life took over. To those of you that do not know me yet,  I was first diagnosed with a fairly large AN. I had surgery in August of 2005 and it turned out that my tumor was actually a facial neuroma. One year later my MRI showed a possible regrowth but, we were hoping it was only scar tissue. Well..no such luck! My tumor is slowly growing but, still not to a dangerous size.

I decided that I would make the very best of my situation. I went back to school. I earned my BA in 2009. I am now studying in a Graduate program at the University of Illinois. However, another health roadblock popped up last winter. Once again I was feeling terrible...and once again I tried to write it off to "just stress".  Through a series of things..first a low back injury that led to a diagnosis of severe osteoporosis, then since I am a little too young for that and I have no know risk factors, my doctors began a search for how my bones could be so bad. They found that I had Thyroid cancer that had metastasized to my lymph nodes and surrounding tissue.

I had surgery with a total thyroidectomy on March 1st. I went back to school this fall and have my last final tomorrow. Next semester I am going to try to do a full load while I am able. I am absolutely determined to get my MS. I may be getting to an age where I won't use it for long, if at all...but D*%%#@T...I worked too hard to quit now.  8)

I am always ready to listen and offer any support. Just send me a note.

Hugs all, Sherry
2.5cm x 3.1cm facial nerve neuroma
removed 8-2-2005(retrosigmoid)
St.Johns Hospital-Springfield,Illinois
Dr.Michael McIlhany and Dr.Carol Bauer
Wait n' watch mode for 8 years.