Author Topic: Hello - I guess I am a newbie too  (Read 21347 times)

chrisransom

Hello - I guess I am a newbie too
« on: January 24, 2011, 11:07:02 am »
Just saying hello to you all who read this.  Just found out in the previous couple of weeks about my AN.  No serious symptoms yet - have a ringing in my ears but I've had that my entire life (almost 50 yrs)  but last summer it changed and split into several tones. Then after that my ear felt full - so I had a good cleaning in August but it never really felt like they got it all - like I had water in my ear after a shower.  Then in December 2010 the tinnitus tone changed again so I went to my local ENT who did an MRI and then sent me to the University of Minnesota to see a Neurotologist and , well, here I am. 

17x21 mm on the left side.  No loss of hearing - no other symptoms.  U of M  said they were a little amazed that I was there because most people have more advanced symptoms than me for as big as it is.  So, today I am in the wait and see mode and am still considering the options. Who knows what tomorrow will bring.

Anyway - hello to all you fellow waiters.

Chris
Diagnosed with 21x16x16 mm AN in December 2010.  No change in June 2011 nor in January 2012.  No major symptoms - tinnitus, some fullness in left ear but no hearing loss or other symptoms.
Firmly in the W&W camp for now.

Kaybo

Re: Hello - I guess I am a newbie too
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2011, 01:24:24 pm »
Hi Chris!
Sorry you are here but glad you have found us!  We are here for you so feel free to ask us any questions that you might have!  So great that you aren't having too many symptoms!

K   ;D
Translab 12/95@Houston Methodist(Baylor College of Medicine)for "HUGE" tumor-no size specified
25 yrs then-14 hour surgery-stroke
12/7 Graft 1/97
Gold Weight x 5
SSD
Facial Paralysis-R(no movement or feelings in face,mouth,eye)
T3-3/08
Great life!

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts