Author Topic: Blurred Vision  (Read 5056 times)

smcij

Blurred Vision
« on: September 08, 2010, 05:45:54 pm »
Hi
I had stereotactic radiotherapy around six months ago and have recently developed blurry vision, like misty patches drifting around my eyes.  They feel really tired.  Any idea if this is temporary or permanent?
Gamma knife radiotherapy March 2010

Jim Scott

• 1943-2020 Please keep Jim's family in your hearts
Re: Blurred Vision
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2010, 03:41:13 pm »
Hi, alegna ~  and welcome to the ANA discussion forums. 

I'm sorry you're having this problem with your vision.  I doubt it's connected to your AN treatment but I'm not a doctor and can't offer you any credible medical advice.  I would suggest you place a call to your physician to ask him about this development and perhaps schedule a visit with an ophthalmologist.

Jim
4.5 cm AN diagnosed 5/06.  Retrosigmoid surgery 6/06.  Follow-up FSR completed 10/06.  Tumor shrinkage & necrosis noted on last MRI.  Life is good. 

Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is.  The way we cope with it is what makes the difference.

ppearl214

• Administrator
  • ANA Forum Policewoman - PBW Cursed Cruise Director
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2010, 05:14:10 pm »
Hi alegna and welcome.

I had stereotactic radiosurgery (ie: Cyberknife) over 4 yrs ago and was being followed carefully by my eye dr.  I did have hints of blurred vision and it seemed to have calmed down.  It was not far off in timeframe to your treatment but for me, it only lasted a couple of months.  We know that "individual results may vary", so please check with your eye doctor on it.  You may want to let your radio-team know as well (I let mine know) just for "FYI" in case they had any other patients potentially run into it (ie: they could "log" it in case another patient asked and they could respond with "yeah, I know of another with the same complaint...")