Author Topic: Question for Facial Paralysis Sufferers and getting CPR Certification  (Read 6142 times)

CROOKEDSMILE

I am a registered nurse and just got offered a job today part-time. This is a huge step for me after all that I've been through and feel like I just hurdled a HUGE obstacle. ONE PROBLEM..........I have to update my CPR certification and I just got off of the phone with the guy who is doing the class. I told him that I had brain surgery/stroke and that I would most likely need to use bag and mask for full ventilation of the mannequin. (ambu bag). He said for me to pass the class I HAVE to do it without that. Any suggestions from you nurses or other healthcare providers with facial weakness as to how I am going to form a good seal on this mannequin................I call them dummies............to make the chest rise? I am nervous because if I can't do it then my job offer is gone as all nurses have to have a current CPR card.
Angie

saralynn143

• Sarey Sarey Quite Contrary
    • MVD diary
I think you will be able to do it. Practice on your husband.

Sara
MVD for hemifacial spasm 6/2/08
left side facial paresis
 12/100 facial function - 7/29/08
 46 - 11/25/08
 53 - 05/12/09
left side SSD approx. 4 weeks
 low-frequency hearing loss; 85% speech recognition 7/28/08
1.8 gram thin profile platinum eyelid weight 8/12/08
Fitted for scleral lens 5/9/13

Cheryl R

Angie,    I was let to get by without having to do the ventilation part.    Thru the last two BCLS  I did.     Is there anyone higher up you can talk to?                Anymore aren't they more concerned about doing the chest compressions than the the ventilations now adays?              I've heard that somewhere.                 The paramedics from our hospital did the classes and they well knew what problems I had.                                  Good luck with this.       Would you be ain a work situitation where would likely be someone else around?                                     Cheryl R