Author Topic: Will a relapse happen for AN after microsurgery with total excision?  (Read 4285 times)

shanne

Hi All,

I had a 3cm x 2.5cm AN in 2005, and had gone through microsurgery for removal of the AN.
Its been 4 years till date, and i still suffer from facial nerve pain.
I even get facial cramps at times, and it can get so severe that my mouth would be slanted to one side.

I have been doing yearly MRI scans for the past 3 years, and im due for the 4th MRI tomorrow.
For my past scans, it showed that they found a 0.6cmx 0.4cm "object". I certainly hope this is not a regrowth..
According to my doctor, he said that this could be a surgery scar, and i should monitor this closely for the next few years.

Just wondering if a relapse/regrowth will ever happen to an AN patient?

Pls share your views.

Thanks

Rgds,
Shanne

Brendalu

• Smile..it makes everyone wonder what you are up to
Re: Will a relapse happen for AN after microsurgery with total excision?
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2009, 03:17:19 am »
Shane,

I would guess it is  scar tissue, but anything can happen.  I think others have had similar results.  I was told I would only have to have MRI's for a couple of years following my surgery.  I have had two a year since and my doctors are not giving me an end date for them.  I am an NF2, but my next one is specifically looking at the removal site of the original !  I wish you luck and will keep you in my positive thoughts and prayers.

Brenda
Brenda Oberholtzer
AN surgery 7/28/05
Peyman Pakzaban, NS
Chester Strunk, ENT

TP

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2009, 06:21:54 am »
Shanne:

I have a small little bit of tumor left on my bone. This was necessary to leave due to the location of the tumor. I had my surgery in 2006, MRIs in 2006, 2007 and 2008. This year is my first year I don't have to have an MRI but will need to have one next year. If it does start to grow these will more than likely grow very slow and you would then be under a wait and watch I would assume.