Author Topic: Decisions, decisions..  (Read 8218 times)

KJ

• kate's corner
Decisions, decisions..
« on: September 29, 2009, 05:43:55 pm »
Hi Everyone,
I'm a newbie and like everyone else I was stunned when my doctor told me I had an AN on my left side. Well, actually I had no idea how serious this was or even what it was until i started reading up on it.  Luckily, mine is small; 10mm x 6mm.  They say they caught it early. I've been told that I probably have had this for 12 to 14 years.  I have a lifelong history of ear problems and have had three mastoid eardrum replacements (two on the right side and one on the left) before I was ten years old. I already have a 60% hearing loss in my right ear and now I have a 70% loss in my left, the AN side. I do have occasional "listing" or dizziness, well not really dizziness. More like unsteadiness. I am an independent contract mail carrier and I drive to deliver.  I'm hoping not to have to give up my job.

I am researching options.  I am 58 years old and I am somewhat intimidated by surgery, fearing total hearing loss on my affected side, leaving me with almost no hearing at all.  I am considering radiotheraphy but am concerned about damaging brain (or other) tissues and also the risk of cancer.  I know nothing about any of this and would appreciate some feedback from any and all who have had either treatment. I realize that all of this is a vast "no man's land" and that nothing is certain. I'm just trying to gather facts and opinions.  I've spoken with the surgeon and neurosurgeon and am planning a visit to a radiotherapy oncologist.

Thanks for any input,
KJ

58yr, married, no children.  Recently diagnosed with 10mm AN on left side.  70% hearing loss, tinnitus, some balance problems.  Previous mastoid eardrum replacements in both ears resulting in 60% loss on right side.  Currently considering treatment options.

opp2

Re: Decisions, decisions..
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2009, 06:29:18 pm »