Author Topic: Has anyone ever had a 3cm+ removed and still had hearing?  (Read 4490 times)

miller

Has anyone ever had a 3cm+ removed and still had hearing?
« on: June 29, 2012, 06:39:08 am »
If you did where was it done? i have had two different  opinions.  Just wanted to find out the likelihood of saving my hearing.

Thanks,

Cheryl

6/1/12 Diagnosed AN 3cm x3.1cmx3.2cm
Hearing Loss, Mild Tinnitus
Translab HEI 7/12/12 Wilkinson Schwartz
SSD, No facial paralysis, Tinnitus

CHD63

• Life is good again!!
Re: Has anyone ever had a 3cm+ removed and still had hearing?
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2012, 08:01:56 am »
Hi Cheryl .....

I am not a doctor, but much has to do with exactly where the tumor is expanding as it grows.  MRIs can tell only so much.  Often when a neurosurgeon gets in there, things look a bit different in relation to the nerves.

Translabyrinthine approach surgery always means complete loss of hearing because of the direction of the approach.  Mid fossa approach gives the best opportunity for hearing preservation ..... again depending upon exactly where the tumor is located.

I had retrosigmoid/suboccipital approach for my first AN (2.6 cm) surgery in the hopes of preserving hearing.  I had 80% of my hearing with 100% speech discrimination pre-surgery and 20% hearing with 100% speech discrimination post-surgery.  This was nicely boosted with a Widex hearing aid.  Unfortunately I was one of the 4-9% who can experience regrowth following retrosigmoid surgery so my second surgery 3 years later was translab.

Even when the auditory nerve is preserved during surgery, it is not a guarantee that hearing will return.

Best wishes and many prayers for hearing preservation.

Clarice
Right MVD for trigeminal neuralgia, 1994, Pittsburgh, PA
Left retrosigmoid 2.6 cm AN removal, February, 2008, Duke U
Tumor regrew to 1.3 cm in February, 2011
Translab AN removal, May, 2011 at HEI, Friedman & Schwartz