Author Topic: CK Experience - Treatment Complete  (Read 4165 times)

brunsje

CK Experience - Treatment Complete
« on: June 08, 2007, 02:46:47 pm »
 :)  This past Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday I had CK treatments at Georgetown University Hospital in Washington DC.

My dose was 7Gy each day, total of 21Gy delivered to my 1cm AN. 

I had two previous appointments.  First appt was to meet with the Radiation Oncologist, Dr. Gagnon and the Neurosurgeon, Dr. Jean who gave me their opinions.  Second appt was to get my mask fitted and a CT scan.  They used my 2 previous MRI's from my referring Neurosurgeon at Bethesda Medical Center.

As an engineer I found the CK machine very interesting.  My recommendations for those undergoing this treatment option:

1.  Bring music.  It is relaxing to listen as the machine moves around your body.
2.  Dress warmly.  The room was about 65 degrees. 
3.  Take a shower beforehand; Relaxes You and minimizes itching on your face that you can't scratch.

Ask as many questions as you'd like, the Technicians love to answer them.  I was treated very well by the Staff!!

Relax.  I am two days past treatment and have no symptoms.  But my tumor was caught early and I have no symptoms and have full hearing capability.

Good Luck.  Best Wishes.

JohnnyB

okiesandy

Re: CK Experience - Treatment Complete
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2007, 09:47:16 pm »
Welcome to the other side!!!!!!