Author Topic: cystic acoustic neuroma  (Read 12577 times)

Buzzy1

cystic acoustic neuroma
« on: September 11, 2009, 06:14:35 pm »
I am a newbie, and am very happy to have discovered this site.  Has anyone had an acoutic neuroma with is a little over half cystic?  Mine is 2.5 cm and I am getting very mixed opinions. The neurosurgeons say cystic tumors grow back ,are more "difficult" and I should have microsurgery to get it all out, while the radiologists say they can use gamma knife. Apparently they are rare, and I couldn't find any data that separates them out from solid tumors. Do any of you know about this?

nancyann

• carpe diem
Re: cystic acoustic neuroma
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2009, 06:56:06 pm »
Hi Buzzy:  do your research,  I think at 2.5CM you need to do it quickly if your decision is GK.    IF I had to do it over again I would opt for GK or CK, only because I ended up with facial paralysis (it only happens in approx. 5% of cases with surgery,  but it happens ...).
I wish you all the best in your journey & decision.  If it does grow back, people have had radiation a second time, or surgery then radiation, or radiation then surgery.
So the choice is yours.

Always good thoughts,  Nancy
ps:  Hang in there Buzzy,  it's kinda late right now on a Friday night,  others who've been through GK or CK/ better outcome with surgery than me will probably chime in tomorrow.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2009, 07:18:23 pm by nancyann »
2.2cm length x 1.7cm width x 1.3cm  depth
retrosigmoid 6/19/06
Gold weight 7/19/06, removed 3/07
lateral tarsel strip X3
T3 procedure 11/20/07
1.6 Gm platinum weight 7/10/08
lateral canthal sling 11/14/08
Jones tube insert right inner eye 2/27/09
2.4 Gm. Platinum chain 2017
right facial paralysis

Buzzy1

« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2009, 07:20:44 pm »
Thank you very much, Nancy.  This is scary to me. I don't know if the cystic part of the tumor is making it worse or if this is just something the surgeons are seizing on.